Belene Municipality is located in the north central part of the Danube Plain in Pleven District – 60 km northeast of the Pleven District Center, on the northern state border of Bulgaria with Romania, from kilometer 582 to kilometer 567 on the right bank of the Danube in the fertile Svishtov-Belenska lowland (with an area of ​​160,000 decares). The territory of the municipality is 285,046 decares (285 km²), of which 12,110 decares are the “settlements” fund. For its area it is one of the small municipalities in Bulgaria. It consists of six settlements – the municipal center of Belene and five villages (town halls) – Dekov, Tatari, Petokladentsi, Kulina Voda and Byala Voda.

Neighboring municipalities are: Svishtov to the east, Nikopol to the west, and Levski to the south.